1. Home
  2. News
  3. Athletic Trainers recognized with Athletic Trainer of the Year Award presented by Fairly Group

Athletic Trainers recognized with Athletic Trainer of the Year Award presented by Fairly Group

Tuesday, June 29th
Athletic Trainers recognized with Athletic Trainer of the Year Award presented by Fairly Group

SHREWSBURY, N.J. – The ECHL announced that, in recognition of their efforts during the pandemic, head athletic trainers from all 14 participating Teams during the 2020-21 Season have been selected as the winners of the ECHL Athletic Trainer of the Year award presented by Fairly Group.

The ECHL is pleased to recognize the athletic training staffs from all 14 Member Teams. Each of the athletic trainers helped to ensure teams are following the ECHL Return to Play protocol during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“On behalf of the ECHL, we would like to thank and recognize each of the Member Teams’ Athletic Trainers for their hard work and dedication,” said ECHL Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst. “We asked each of these individuals to go above and beyond this year with all of the testing, PPE and administrative aspects of our protocols on top of what each does daily to make sure their teams were ready to play. We would also like to thank the Fairly Group for helping honor and always being there to assist our Athletic Trainers when needed.”


Athletic Trainer

Allen Americans

Jordan Dutton

Florida Everblades

Dylan Dewey

Fort Wayne Komets

Matt Willett

Greenville Swamp Rabbits

Adam Campbell

Indy Fuel

George Bullock, Jr.

Jacksonville Icemen

Scott McLay

Kansas City Mavericks

Nick Potter

Orlando Solar Bears

Brian DeAlmeida

Rapid City Rush

Cody Lindhorst

South Carolina Stingrays

Max Finley

Tulsa Oilers

Steve Lintern

Utah Grizzlies

Collin Lee

Wheeling Nailers

Daniel Barker

Wichita Thunder

Josh Elmer

ECHL Athletic Trainer of the Year2020-21    ECHL Athletic Trainers2019-20    George Bullock, Indy Fuel2018-19    Nick Potter, Kansas City Mavericks2017-18    Matt Aiello, Greenville Swamp Rabbits2016-17    Cole Libby, Utah Grizzlies2015-16     Scott McLay, Alaska Aces2014-15    Brad Fredrick, Toledo Walleye2013-14    Steve Ruhmel, Florida Everblades2012-13    Bob Case, Cincinnati Cyclones2011-12    Mike Schroeder, Chicago Express2010-11    Kevin Anderson, Stockton Thunder2009-10    Bobby Walls, Ontario Reign2008-09    Bryan Rodgers, Dayton Bombers2007-08    Brian Grogesky, Reading Royals 

About the ECHLBegan in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for its 33rd season in 2020-21. There have been 698 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 20 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2020-21 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2020-21, marking the 24th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.

About Fairly GroupThe Fairly Group is a risk consulting firm advising clients throughout the United States and in over 100 countries in several business segments including corporate risk, human capital and benefits, and a broad array of risk consulting specialties. We are committed to finding ways to help our clients mitigate and manage risk while always challenging the paradigms that impede our mission.

Get Ahead Of The Crowd

Sign up below to receive news, information, and offers from the Kansas City Mavericks.