1. Home
  2. News
  3. Equipment Managers recognized with Equipment Manager of the Year Award presented by Warrior Hockey

Equipment Managers recognized with Equipment Manager of the Year Award presented by Warrior Hockey

Tuesday, June 29th
Equipment Managers recognized with Equipment Manager of the Year Award presented by Warrior Hockey

SHREWSBURY, N.J. – The ECHL announced that, in recognition of their efforts during the pandemic, head equipment managers from all 14 participating Teams during the 2020-21 Season have been selected as the winners of the ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year award presented by Warrior Hockey.

The ECHL is pleased to recognize the equipment staffs from all 14 Member Teams. Each of the equipment managers helped to ensure teams are following the ECHL Return to Play protocol during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“On behalf of the ECHL, we would like to thank and recognize each of the Member Teams’ equipment managers for the hard work and dedication it took to make this season happen,” said ECHL Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst. “Each one of these individuals was tasked with a lot of extra work with all of our protocols on top of what normally is already a tough job. We also would like to thank our exclusive equipment provider Warrior Hockey for helping honor all the ECHL Equipment Managers.”


Equipment Manager

Allen Americans

Tim Abbott

Florida Everblades

John Sellars

Fort Wayne Komets

Skylar Garver

Greenville Swamp Rabbits

Shawn Thorns

Indy Fuel

Darrin Flinchem

Jacksonville Icemen

Jeremy Holloway

Kansas City Mavericks

Lukas Nestor

Orlando Solar Bears

Adam Dexter

Rapid City Rush

Gavin Bechtol

South Carolina Stingrays

Nick Lazor

Tulsa Oilers

Tony Deynzer

Utah Grizzlies

Matthew Schwegmann

Wheeling Nailers

Bill Higgins

Wichita Thunder

Frank Jury

ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year2020-21    ECHL Equipment Managers2019-20    Chris Burke, Cincinnati Cyclones2018-19    Jason MacDonald, Reading Royals2017-18    Darren Flinchem, Indy Fuel2016-17    Andrew Dvorak, Missouri Mavericks2015-16    Drew Kitts, Quad City Mallards2014-15    Dakota King, Gwinnett Gladiators2013-14    Billy Higgins, Wheeling Nailers2012-13    Adam Dexter, Orlando Solar Bears2011-12    Ryan Martin, Greenville Road Warriors2010-11    Mike Burkhead, Alaska Aces2009-10    Ben Laing, Stockton Thunder2008-09    Pat Noecker, Reading Royals2007-08    Pat Noecker, Reading Royals2005-06    Chris Burke, Fresno Falcons2004-05    John Jennings, Florida Everblades and Russ Holden, Reading Royals2003-04    John Krouse, Pensacola Ice Pilots2002-03    Tom Severance, Charlotte Checkers

About the ECHLBegan in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for its 33rd season in 2020-21. There have been 698 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 20 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2020-21 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2020-21, marking the 24th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.

About Warrior HockeyHeadquartered in Warren, Michigan, Warrior Sports is recognized as one of the sporting goods industry’s premier manufacturer of innovative, high performance, cutting-edge equipment, footwear and apparel for lacrosse and hockey athletes of all ages and abilities. Founded in 1992 by former champion lacrosse player David Morrow, Warrior was acquired by privately-held New Balance Athletic Shoe, Inc. in February 2004.

Get Ahead Of The Crowd

Sign up below to receive news, information, and offers from the Kansas City Mavericks.